How Ru Paul’s Drag Race Made Me A Sassier Person

Start your engines. As it is Ru Pauls birthday today I thought I would share with you why I love Ru Paul’s Drag Race. Ru Paul’s Drag Race is easily the sassiest, most fabulous show on the tv!  This show embraces beauty, performance and art like no other. Showing the shimmering beauty of the world of drag  in a complex and creative competition to become Ru Paul’s Next Drag Superstar. This show inspired me in so many ways to become a sassier person. 

Changes in my make up

I became so much more confident in what make up I could wear. I started to embrace colours I would have never dared to have tried. Bring pinks, neon yellows and extreme contouring have all been tried and tested now. Contouring is now an art that I have truly mastered although I would never compare my skills to the true queens on contouring you seeing drag race. I have embraced matching bright pink eyes with bright pink lips which is something I would have never dared to do. In some ways my make up has always been fairly natural. 

  
 Body confidence 

Although I’m not “large and in charge” like the lovely Latrice Royale and I’m not slim like Sharon Needles I do suffer a lot with body confidence issues. Seeing these gourgeous queens work it inspired my so much. I used to cover up a lot, mostly my arms because I hate them. But is these queens can embrace themselves and put themselves on show so much while looking absolutely fabulous, well, so can I! I have started wearing clothes that I look awesome in but in the last I would have only dreamed of wearing because of my arms.

Sassier ways of speaking

I have picked up so many phrases from this show,  I am constantly calling my friends ” basic bitches” which I think is hilarious.  Below are some of my favourite lines which I use too often

  • Your tone seems very pointed right now
  • Now sashay away
  • I will search in the bottom of my purse for a fuck to give, and I can’t find one
  • I pity you for the face you have 
  • I will pee on your pillow 
  • Girl, you are shady. Shadier than a palm tree

Mainly this show has given me more confidence to embrace myself and to not let anyone judge me. 

Happy Birthday Mama Ru!

Billie xox 

Leave a Reply

