Songs that are part of me

Do you ever look back through your life and think back to all those awkward, crazy and empowering moments in your life? I’ve been doing a lot of this recently and some how I seem to always have songs to  relate to parts of my life. Today is the first post in a new series called “Songs that are part of me” .  Whether they make me happy, make me think or are just a throw back, they are a part of my personality. I might just think that because I was a theatre kid.

My Happy Ending – Avril Lavigne

Avril-Lavigne-avril-lavigne-68090_1024_768.jpg

Under My Skin was the first CD I ever owned, I got it for my 9th birthday. Avril was so cool, she was angsty and just rocked. She was everything I wanted to be when I grew up, I loved how tomboyish she was. I remember when ever we used to drive anywhere I’d force my family to listen to this CD while I’d belt out all of the songs. More recently this song has made a come back for me, My Happy Ending became a song that relates to my ex, we broke up last year on good terms. Still its weird how much I relate to this song now and how many memories it brings back.

The Show – Lenka

lenka the show

13 year old Billie loved this song, its got such a uplifting rhythm and it made me feel so happy. Back at school I was quite badly bullied and I suffered with anxiety problems, I used to relate to this song because I always felt like I was caught up in the middle. The lyrics “Slow it down, Make it stop. Or else my heart is going to pop ’cause it’s too much, Yeah, it’s a lot to be something I’m not ” really stood out to me a lot. I used to really try my best to fit in and have friends, I wouldn’t be myself around people at all. It all got too much and my anxiety got worse, but eventually I came out of my shell and now I’ve the loud, ranting blogger with no boundaries or filter!

Sweet As A Whole – Sara Bareilles

tumblr_ngnp0yEQ5S1r2fr72o1_500

This is currently my favourite song, it literally sounds like something I would like. The song is just like me to start off we are so soft and sweet, then the more you listen you realise that I’m actually a bit of a bitch. Give it a listen!

Pocket Full Of Sunshine – Natasha Bedingfield

tumblr_mcxpsnro2D1r7u6oko1_500

Easy A, my favourite film, led me to this song, and it is now my feel good song. I can do so many dramatic re-enactments of this song, I love it, its a sweet escape…

There are lots more songs to add to the list, and lots more stories to tell. So bear with me while I gather more songs like this.

Do you have any songs that take you back? What are they?

Billie xox

 

Leave a Reply

